Speakers and Panelists for the 2010 NCUWP at Yale

Northeast Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics

The 2011 Northeast conference will be held at MIT.

January 15-17, 2010

Dr. Linda Godwin, Astronaut, Johnson Space Center
Dr. Beverly Hartline, Associate Provost for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies, University of the District of Columbia
Dr. Catherine Kallin, Professor of Astronomy & Physics, McMaster University
Dr. Young-Kee Kim, Deputy Director of Fermilab
Dr. Luz Martinez-Miranda, Associate Professor of Materials Science & Engineering, University of Maryland
Dr. Carol Scarlett, Professor of Physics, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
Dr. Suzanne Staggs, Professor of Physics, Princeton University
Dr. Yevgeniya V. Zastavker, Associate Professor of Physics, Olin College
Marcia Bartusiak, Adjunct Professor with the Graduate Program in Science Writing at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dr. Sandra Brown, Patent Lawyer
Dr. Sarah Demers, Associate Professor of Physics, Yale University
Dr. Linda Godwin, Astronaut, Johnson Space Center

Friday, January 15, 2010

5:00 PM
Welcome Reception
LC 202

5:45 PM
Welcoming Address
Professor Bonnie Fleming, Yale University

6:00 PM
A Novel Approach to Axion Research
Professor Carol Scarlett, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University

7:00 PM

7:15 PM
Technical Talk
Professor Yevgeniya V. Zastavker, Olin College

Saturday, January 16, 2010

8:15 AM
Breakfast and Registration

8:45 AM
Welcome & Introductions

9:00 AM
Advancing Women in Physics, Including Yourself!
Dr. Beverly Hartline, University of the District of Columbia

10:00 AM

10:15 AM
The Response of Liquid Crystals to Nanoparticles
Professor Luz Martinez-Miranda, University of Maryland

11:15 AM
Lunch with Yale Faculty Members
Location: Donaldson Commons

1:00 PM
Cosmology at 17,000 Feet: How and Why We Measure the Primordial Universe with Special Purpose Instruments in the Andes
Professor Suzanne Staggs, Princeton University

2:00 PM
My Adventures in Particle Physics
Professor Young-Kee Kim, Fermilab

3:00 PM

3:30 PM
Career Panel
Marcia Bartusiak, MIT
Dr. Sandra Brown, Jones Day
Dr. Sarah Demers, Yale University
Dr. Linda Godwin, NASA

5:00 PM

5:15 PM
Graduate Student Panel
Introduction by Witold Skiba, Director of Graduate Studies, Yale University

6:30 PM
Location: Donaldson Commons

7:30 PM
Presentation in the Leitner Planetarium
First group leaves by shuttle from Donaldson Commons

8:30 PM
Presentation in the Leitner Planetarium
Second group leaves by shuttle from Omni Hotel

Sunday, January 17, 2010

8:45 AM
Breakfast and Poster Setup

9:15 AM
Student Research Talks
Locations: LC 102, 208, 209, 210

10:40 AM
Greetings from the Physics Chair
Professor Meg Urry, Chair, Physics Department; Israel Munson
Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Yale University

10:50 AM
NASA’s Human Space Flight Program, Present and Future
Dr. Linda Godwin, NASA

11:50 AM
Lunch and Student Poster Session
Location: LC 211

1:10 PM
Lab Tours
Location: Science Hill

3:15 PM

3:30 PM
Superconductivity with a Twist
Professor Catherine Kallin, McMaster University

4:30 PM
Closing Remarks and Evaluation

To see last year’s conference schedule, please look here.